Skip to content

145 – Late Night Pop and Crying Cat

October 17, 2010

Sorry to miss my regular post yesterday.  I was a little bit sick and ended up going to bed much early than usual.  So to make up for it, here I am in rare Saturday night form!  Tonight’s post is something that I captured a few months back while attempting to record the atrocity that is Korean adult pop music (not exactly 트로트, not really sure what to call it) on TV.  Not long into my effort, though, the hungry stray cat that used to regular the alleyway next to my house shows up, determined to let the whole neighborhood know just how hungry he is.  So consider this a two-for-one, without a picture.  I hope you enjoy it, and please, somebody, feed that darn cat! (145 – Late Night Pop and Crying Cat)

Recorded 7/16/10, 2:23AM (local time)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan permalink
    October 17, 2010 12:57 am

    To be honest, I love trot! From what I have heard, Trot is a Korean adaptation of a popular Japanese style from the pre-WW2 era. It is called 演歌 or 演説の歌. I guess it would be 연설 노래 in Korean, but that would probably be nonsense to a Korean.^^ I guess it means “a song with a message”. I for one believe the seed of trot is Enka. Listen to some Enka on the net and you may hear the close resemblance.

    • October 17, 2010 1:24 am

      That’s a really interesting observation, Evan! Honestly, I’ve never heard of Enka, but after searching around on Youtube, I think your right. Sounds very similar. I guess this brings up a whole new level to the never-ending Korea and Japanese Imperialism debate, haha.

      On a side note, do you have any idea where I can get ahold of some old-school trot music? I’ve heard it in the background of a few movies (such as 박쥐, and it sounds a whole lot different than what’s around today). I’d be really interested to hear some more of it but have no idea how to get my hands on some.

Leave a Reply

