Skip to content

154 – 낙성대 찹쌀떡장수 (Nakseongdae Rice Cake Seller)

November 11, 2010

This is another one of my favorite sounds, and another which has taken me a very long time to capture and post.  This is the local rice cake vendor, who regularly walks through my neighborhood late at night selling ‘찹쌀뗙.’  I another vendor (from a nearby neighborhood) a few months back, but both of these guys have really different calls.  Also I love the way that the voice in this one sounds, as the seller walks through the narrow streets near my house, fading into the distance.  (154 – Chapsal tteok)

Recorded 10/17/10, 2:16AM (local time)

*See also: 044 – Rice Cake Vendor

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heek permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:07 pm

    you should definitely check out the laundry guys in apartment buildings, they make a very interesting sound with the word ‘laundry’ (세탁).

    • December 8, 2010 1:36 am

      Thanks for the tip, Heek! That sounds really interesting. Unfortunately there’s no one like that in my building. Any idea where I can find them? Or maybe you can record them and send it to me, if you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

