Skip to content

169 – 춘천에서 닭갈비 (Chuncheon ‘Dak galbi’)

February 2, 2011
tags:

The sound of 닭갈비 (Korean spicy grilled chicken) grilling at ‘1.5 닭갈비’ in Chuncheon, Gangwon Province.  The restaurant is located on ‘Dak galbi Street,’ and is one of a number of well-known places that serve Chuncheon’s (capital of Gangwon-do and only about an hour’s ride from Seoul) most famous dish. (169 – Chuncheon Dak galbi)

Recorded 1/22/11, 1:24PM (local time)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 8:03 pm

    I’ve heard about this before as well, but I haven’t heard what makes this special and differentiates this from, say, Yu Ga Nae Dak Galbi, which I’m really fond of.

    • February 16, 2011 12:18 am

      Yeah. Honestly, me neither. I don’t always get the ‘famous’ food culture here. But it was good!

  2. February 16, 2011 8:49 am

    How do you like the “Chuncheon Dak Galbi” restaurant in our neighborhood? I guess it’d be pretty close to your apartment. I love the place, and the owners seem to love Victoria and me — they give us drinks as “service” and a free bag of candy almost every time we eat there! (Yes, not a piece of candy, a BAG of candy!)

    • February 17, 2011 10:46 am

      I was only there once. It was okay, but I was a little turned off by the ‘Look, foreigners! Obviously they can’t eat spicy food, so let’s make this mild without asking them if it’s okay’ attitude. To be fair, I should go back.

Leave a Reply

