Skip to content

199 – Seoul Metro ‘Bells’

August 24, 2011
tags:

As a follow-up to my last post, here is the new ‘bells’ announcement that is currently being used to announce the ‘outer-circle’ and north-bound trains on all Seoul Metro subway lines (Lines 1, 2, 3, and 4).  While this is slightly better than the ‘fanfare,’ in my opinion, I still can’t understand why they would have changed from a good thing to something far more annoying.  (199 – Seoul Metro ‘Bells’)

Recorded 8/19/11, 7:07PM (local time)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 5:50 am

    This sounds just like the chimes we used to change classes at our hagwon. I miss Korea!

  2. March 6, 2012 9:35 am

    It sounds very Japanese; it reminds me of the sound clips they play on board the Shinkansen. I wonder if that’s what they were going for.

    • March 9, 2012 11:44 am

      I’ve never ridden the Shinkansen, but you might be right. With all the Korean-Japanese rivalry, though, I’d be a little hesitant to make that claim too loudly, haha.

  3. ArmyWifeX permalink
    March 31, 2012 2:41 am

    I am so glad you posted this! I just returned home from Korea and was wishing i had recorded this. I googled on the off chance that someone else had recorded it and here it was. Thank you! Can I link your blog to mine? Also, you don’t happen to have a recording of the asian sounding jingle do you?

  4. February 18, 2015 1:11 am

    i went to seoul 2 in 2013 and suddenly miss this subway sound. Googling and found this cutie blog. Thank you so much author, you saved me hahaha. Anyway can’t i download this sound? i want to set this sound as my ringtone

    • March 25, 2015 6:56 am

      Hi Dinda, thanks for your message. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. Yes, you can download any sound you want by right-clicking on the file name and selecting “Download Linked file As…” Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

