Skip to content

001BI – Balinese Gamelan Overture

October 19, 2011

Once again, I’m back after a long delay.  This time, however, I have a really good excuse.  I promise.  Shortly after my last post, I figured out the solution to my problem (anyone who is particularly interested can check out my reply in the ‘comments’ section of that post) but was quickly flooded with other things; namely, a wedding and a honeymoon in Bali, Indonesia.

Anyway, Bali, along with it’s noted natural beauty, is one of the most artistically and musically interesting places in the world.  I wasn’t able to record a whole lot while I was there, but I will be posting a small fraction of what I recorded over the next few days.

The first is an overture piece from a Balinese gamelan orchestra (with singers) that accompanied a traditional dance performance at Ubud Palace on one of our nights there.  I won’t go into too many details about gamelan music, for fear of boring the large number of readers who probably aren’t as interested in these kind of things as I am, but here is a link to a Wikipedia article if you want to know a little more.  Otherwise, just try to enjoy the music.  I’m sure you’ve probably never heard anything like it before.  (001BI – Gamelan Overture)

Recorded 10/13/11, 7:30PM (local time)

Leave a Reply

