Skip to content

215 – 도시 수탉 (Urban Rooster)

January 31, 2012

Everyday on my way to work near 중곡역 (Junggok Station, Line 7, Seoul), I come across this rooster ‘꼬끼오 꼬끼오’-ing (‘Ko-ki-oh,’ or ‘Cock-a-doodle-doo’ in English) behind the front gate of one of the houses.  I have no idea why the old woman living there has a chicken, but I have seen her let it walk out the front door of the house.  It’s a strange pet to have in the middle of the city, especially with it being so loud and the neighbors being so close, but I guess no one’s complaining.  It is entertaining, however, to watch the reactions of unknowing passers-by when the rooster decides to cut loose.  (215 – Urban Rooster)

Recorded 1/20/11, 2:15PM (local time)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 11:57 am

    That’s my favorite kind of rooster… None of those country bumpkins for me, I only like the city birds 🙂

    Some of the things I experienced to and from work… so priceless. I was so glad to be able to record my walk to and from school. I think this captures that same sort of spice in the daily grind. Daily life is really boring back in the states, but maybe I need to find a rooster to spice it all up? I think you’re really on to something, Steve.

  2. November 19, 2012 2:06 am

    you could also have a pet like chicken..then every morning on your pillow there would be an egg

    • November 24, 2012 3:11 pm

      Now that would be great! It would be awesome to have fresh eggs every morning.

Leave a Reply

