Skip to content

228 – 고속도로 휴게소 (Highway Rest Stop)

July 10, 2012

The quintessential sound of a Korean road trip, each and every rest stop on the Korean expressways has a booth with someone selling 트로트 음악 (‘Trot’ music).  I can’t say for sure exactly where this was recorded, but I can tell you it was somewhere along the bus route between 강릉 (Gangleung) and 서울 (Seoul). (228 – Highway Rest Stop)

Recorded 5/28/12, 8:07PM (local time)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JYOH permalink
    July 11, 2012 9:24 pm

    I can see it’s Moon-Mak highway rest stop (문막휴게소) from the poles of the shop in the picture. What a nice blog, I really enjoy it.

    • July 18, 2012 10:56 pm

      Great, thanks! Yeah, I was on a bus and probably sleeping, so I had no idea where we were, haha. Glad you liked it!

  2. July 17, 2012 8:02 pm

    Hi Steve,

    my and my GF just move to Seoul for a couple of months and stumbled upon your blog. We’ve always thought this sound thing could be a good idea … nice work. Anyway we’ve heard a very strange sound on the street today, I’ve recorded it with my camera and converted to MP3, I was wondering whether I could send it to you and you could maybe tell me what it is. It’s probably some animal … should you be interested you can get back to me via my e-mail and delete this rather off-topic post. -pav-

    • July 18, 2012 11:04 pm

      Hey Pav! Yeah, I’d love to help you. I’m not sure if I can tell you what it is or not, but I’d be interested to have a listen. Can you email it to me at the link here (http://en.gravatar.com/smorphie)? Even better, after I have a listen, would it be okay to post your sound here as a reader submission? I’ve always been interested in getting others involved in finding and recording sounds. You’d be the first!

      • July 18, 2012 11:44 pm

        Hey Steve, sure will e-mail the sound even with a picture of the place. And of course you can post it as a submission, would be honored 🙂 really like your blog. -pav-

Leave a comment